The Early Years Foundation Stage

Battisford Preschool provides top quality care for children aged 2 to 5 years and delivers all of the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage.
The aspects of learning & development.

There are 7 areas of learning and development which are divided into 3 prime and 4 specific areas; these aspects are covered in your child’s profile.

Prime Areas
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
• Physical Development
• Communication and Language

Specific Areas
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design

Every Child matters
At Battisford Pre-School we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework which is based around these four themes:
• A Unique Child
• Positive Relationships
• Enabling Environments
• Learning and Development

These in turn are linked to the Every Child Matters outcomes which are:
• Being Healthy
• Staying Safe
• Enjoying & Achieving
• Making a positive contribution
• Economic well-being

By allowing children to learn through their play, listening and acting on children’s needs and interests we are able to incorporate the EYFS curriculum into our daily routine.